Free Verse Ballad: Elaine by Bea Flores

[credits to GIPHY for the GIF]

Hello everyone! I’m back 🙂 It’s been awhile, I know. I just finished taking tests today and I’m sooooo happy to say I now have the time to post and just go back to the book community. So as a come back, here’s a piece that I wrote for a project in English. It’s not the best and it has its flaws. I hope you’ll like it though. Good day everyone! ❤

He said to her picture, “You can always break my heart, and put it back to pieces.
But just know that it will never be the same again.”
His heart is hers to hold, hers to break.
Always on the go, beating Elaine.

They were free, young, and reckless; far from the truth.
They talk for hours like it’s the end of the road.
Once Elaine had asked, “Do you love me yes, do you love me not?”
The young man thought; he didn’t answer yet he showed.

Saturday night the young man went to Elaine’s house.
“Elaine, Elaine, here’s a bouquet of flowers.”
“Noah, Noah, what are these for?”
“I offer purity and pride—zest of me that showers.”

Sunday morning the young man went to Elaine’s house.
“Elaine, Elaine, here’s a note and a coffee.”
“Noah, Noah, what are these for?”
“I offer friendship and affection—avidity of me that comes with jolly.”

Days went by and the young man gave more of him.
“Is there more you will offer?”
But this time, Noah had nothing at hand.
“Indeed, there is. Take my heart, and it will forever be yours to foster.”

One day Elaine asked again, “Do you love me yes, do you love me not?”
“Aren’t what I gave you enough?”
Silence took place, and they locked eyes.
“I’m sorry, I can’t. I’m sorry for messing it all up.”

Tears shed from the young man’s eyes.
“It will never be the same again.
She broke my heart.”
Noah cried, and then there came memories of Elaine.

2 years after, they saw each other.
“Noah, forgive me but I love you still. Please don’t let my heart bleed.”
The young man didn’t feel anything.
“Elaine, forgive me but I am already healed.”

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

