Author Interview: Cory Martin

102792
CORY MARTIN is a graduate of the University of Southern California, Cory has a B.A. in English-Creative Writing, and spent time studying literature at Cambridge University in England. By the age of twenty-five, she had garnered writing credits on the hit television show, “The O.C.” and had been asked by Scholastic to pen three young adult novels based on the same T.V. series. She is the author of “Love Sick” a memoir about dating, life in Hollywood and dealing with MS. Her essays have appeared online with XOJane, The Mighty, and Elephant Journal. As a passionate yogi, Cory Martin is also a 500-hr RYT and a regular instructor at the famed Santa Monica Pier’s run and yoga program, ROGA. She teaches at various studios around Los Angeles and is the writer behind the documentary film “Titans of Yoga” and her book “Yoga for Beginners” was released in August, 2015 by Althea Press.

To find out more about Cory follow her on Instagram at @corymartinwrites or on facebook at fb/corymartinyog

27157101.jpg

ABOUT HER BOOK:

 At 28, Cory Martin thought she had it all, a budding career as a writer in Hollywood, an apartment of her own, and a healthy obsession with yoga. But when she found herself on the floor of her apartment wailing into the phone, ‘but I don’t want to be sick,’ her entire world came crashing down.

A doctor had just revealed that she had multiple sclerosis, a potentially debilitating disease, her good friend was getting married that weekend and the only people she wanted to call were her parents. In a time when she was supposed to be coming into her own as an adult, all she could think was, who’s going to want to marry me now?

As she embarked on a medical quest, subjecting herself to countless MRIs and a painful spinal tap that landed her in the ER, Cory simultaneously threw herself head first into dating. But no matter how many doctors she saw or men she met there would never be a cure for MS or a surefire way to find “the one.”

Praise for Love Sick:

“Unflinchingly honest and vulnerable, Martin’s book says all the things people need to hear and few are brave enough to voice.  Full of humor, absurd situations, and wry observations, her story inspires us to never stop looking for love.” – Stephanie Savage, co-creator Gossip Girl

“I expected Cory Martin’s memoir about a girl’s diagnosis and struggle with multiple sclerosis to be heart-breaking, but I didn’t expect it to also be a hilarious, hip, and sexy trip through her adventures in dating and her unjaded quest for true love. You’ll cry but more importantly you’ll laugh.” – Marianne Wibberley, writer Charlie’s Angels: Full Throttle, National Treasure

“This is an honest book that does not hesitate in pulling its punches. Packed with emotion, it will leave you turning the pages in anticipation” – New York Journal of Books

“Love Sick is one of those books you start reading and can’t put down. Cory Martin’s story is told in a raw, honest, and raucous manner. She had me laughing out loud and crying all in one sitting.” – Joe Lewis, Head of Comedy, Amazon Studios

“Candid, wise, funny, heartbreaking and ultimately inspirational: in an unpredictable world, Cory Martin’s Love Sick reminds us of what really matters.” – Matt Ward, writerMadam Secretary, Suburgatory, My Name Is Earl

“Many women spend their thirties trying to get settled in their careers, friendships, and love lives, Cory Martin spent hers trying to do all that while dealing with an insane medical curveball. An incredible story told with honesty, humor, and hope.” – Leila Gerstein, creator Hart of Dixie

 KNOW MORE ABOUT HER:

 What inspired you to write your first book?

The first book I ever wrote was one I was asked by Scholastic to write, so I’m not sure that really counts. When someone gives you a contract and a check and a deadline you can get pretty inspired to start writing fairly quickly. But that’s a very rare situation. So instead, I’ll tell you what inspired me to write my latest book, Love Sick. I wrote this memoir because when I was diagnosed with multiple sclerosis I felt completely alone. There were no young women anywhere sharing their stories in a way that I could relate. It was really disheartening, especially because I was an avid reader and lover of words, so I thought maybe a book could be the one thing that helped me get through this all. I wrote about my journey with MS and dating and finding a career in Hollywood in the most honest way I could because I never wanted anyone to feel alone again.

What do you think is the hardest in writing?

The hardest part of writing is staring at a blank screen. You may have great ideas in your head, but when you’re faced with that blinking cursor and a white page something happens and ideas seem to disappear. A lot of times I have to tell myself to just write anything even if it’s terrible so that I can get past that blank screen. Once I do get something on the screen the writing comes a lot easier. Of course, that’s not to say that I never get writer’s block, but having something to look at always helps.

  Do you consider writing & reading the same?

I wouldn’t consider them the same, but I would say that reading is absolutely necessary to being a great writer. I read constantly and I read everything. From chick lit, to literary fiction, to non-fiction self-help type books to memoirs and short stories. I consider reading research. I have to know what’s out there in order to discover what’s missing, plus I love supporting other writers – those I know and those I don’t.

 What attitude must an author have?

I suppose an author has to have a pretty positive attitude. We spend so much time alone, or at least I do, that if I sat around in my office all day with a negative attitude I would be miserable all the time. I also think you have to be positive because you are constantly being rejected and if you can’t take the rejection you will stunt your creativity. I’ve gotten rejected so many times now that I don’t feel like I’m succeeding unless someone’s telling me no on a daily basis. That “no” can come in the form of a review on Goodreads or Amazon or it can be that my book got rejected by a media person for a review, or it can be that an essay I wrote got rejected. I look at rejection as my friend and if I didn’t have a positive attitude I think I’d be screwed and I’d never make it as an author. So, my advice to anyone who wants to be an author is to stay positive.

CLICK THE COVER IF YOU WANT TO READ THE FIRST TWO CHAPTERS OF LOVE SICK:

27157101

 

Leave a Reply

