Book Review: Replica by Lauren Oliver

replica-ad.jpg

Before anything else, I just want to thank Harper Collins for the advance review copy. I wouldn’t have read this in advance and for free if not because of them. This book will be out on October 4th so be sure to stay tuned!

br.png

 

Replica (Replica, #1)Replica by Lauren Oliver

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Replica by Lauren Oliver is a novel that follows the story of two girls’ point of views — Lyra & Gemma.

Gemma’s been a sickly child ever since she was born. Her world revolved around her house, school and her bestfriend. When she discovers that her father’s related to Haven, a research facility, she started to became curious and was eager to find out the connections on why her father’s name seems linked to it.

Lyra aka number 24 along with number 72, a fellow replica, managed to escape when a tragedy hit the facility. In a world they thought never existed, they meet Gemma. As Lyra and Gemma try to understand each other, they’ll see that there’s beyond connection than they thought there is between them.

I give the book 4 out of 5 stars! The book was amazing. I love the concept — it’s new & fresh. The way the novel was written is very unique! I’ve never seen a book with such style. I must say it’s a good attraction for the book.

Anyway, I liked the plot. It was shocking and unexpected. So love the conflict! As for the characters, I loved Lyra better than Gemma. I think Lyra’s a bit easier to read than Gemma. Although I can’t deny that things were better explained with Gemma’s point of view. Anyhow, they’re both fantastic characters and are very likeable.

The book was brilliantly written. I don’t have any more words for this book. It’s fantastic and one of a kind! I’m so looking forward to the next installment. If you’re into young adult & science fiction, I suggest this book suits you. I highly recommend this book to ages 15 & up.

authorrr

AVT_Lauren-Oliver_5222

Lauren Oliver is the New York Times bestselling author of the YA novels Replica, Vanishing Girls, Panic, and the Delirium trilogy: Delirium, Pandemonium, and Requiem, which have been translated into more than thirty languages. The film rights to both Replica and Lauren’s bestselling first novel, Before I Fall, were acquired by AwesomenessTV; a major motion picture adaptation of Before I Fall was announced by Open Road Films in 2016.

Lauren is also the author of novels for middle grade readers: The Spindlers; Liesl & Po, which was an E. B. White Read Aloud Award nominee; and the Curiosity House series, co-written with H. C. Chester. She has also written one novel for adults, Rooms.

A graduate of the University of Chicago and NYU’s MFA program, Lauren Oliver is also the cofounder of content development company Paper Lantern Lit. You can visit her online at www.laurenoliverbooks.com.

hc.jpg

One thought on “Book Review: Replica by Lauren Oliver

  1. Ashleigh says:

    I’m currently reading this! I’ve just finished reading Gemma’s side of the story, so now I just need to read Lyra’s and I can’t wait. Glad to hear you enjoyed it 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

