Q&A: Morris Graham

51BCBlm9f9L._UX250_

ABOUT THIS AUTHOR:

 

My name is Morris E. Graham and I’ve recently published my debut sci-fi novel. I live in central Arkansas, USA. I am married, and father of four, 59 years old. I work in technical support, but my love is creative writing. I literally can’t listen to the radio, watch TV, or observe people just living life without getting some springboard idea to write about. My first novel, “Warzone: Nemesis” is a military science fiction novel, but I view it as much, much more. You might think that a military sci-fi book would just be about techy gadgets and violence, but I took the time and care to write about characters, and I believe my characters are engaging.

Writing tips?

M: Hibernate. Get the television off. Find some quiet time when people don’t get to interrupt your thought processes. Write with a word processor and an internet connection up for quick reference and research at your fingertips.
Why did you chose to become an author?

M: I was going through some short-stories I was getting ready to post on our gaming-clan website, and I said, ‘I can write something at least this good.’ The target was eight pages, and post it. I never found and exit strategy. I quit gaming years ago, but writing stuck with me.
Where do you get inspirations?

M: My original book, “Warzone: Nemesis.” which is part of a three-book trilogy planned, is part of the eight-page short story I mentioned. But for content inspiration, it comes from everywhere–movies, books, songs, people, news, inspiration is all around you.
Do you consider writing and reading similar?

M: You can’t write if you don’t love to read. The best writers are voracious readers.
Have you been into a book slump?

M: I have in the past. I just got too busy to read anything. I don’t have that problem anymore. I spend two hours in transit to work every day, and I carry an audio book with me.
Have you read the Harry Potter series?

M: No. I have religious objections to reading occult material.
Who’s your favorite author and why?

 

M: Every interview has this question. I can best narrow it down to two authors: Tony Hillerman and Clive Cussler. I love Tony Hillerman’s Chee-Longhorn Navajo detective series, and Clive Cussler’s Dirk Pitt series.
Do you have strange writing habits?

M: I get to work an hour early, write or edit someone else’s books for an hour before work, then again at lunch.
How do you read?

M: either audio books on the way to work, eBooks on Kindle, or paperbacks in the bathtub.

 

WHERE TO FIND?

website: http://www.morrisegraham.com

Linked-In https://www.linkedin.com/pub/graham-morris-e/96/97/a63 Twitter @MorrisEGraham

Amazon Reviewer http://www.amazon.com/gp/pdp/profile/A22QFL2QV9336P

goodreads author https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7213868.Morris_E_Graham

Leave a Reply

