Book Review: Firsts by Laurie Elizabeth Flynn

FirstsFirsts by Laurie Elizabeth Flynn

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Firsts by Laurie Elizabeth Flynn follows Mercedes–better known as Mercy. She’s known for taking a guy’s virginity. But behind everything she has done, she thought she was doing them a favor–helping them rather. Until it came to the point that it ruined what she thought she had in control.

I give this book 3 out of 5 stars. The book was good. You can learn a lot from it. The plot was intense and the characters were well developed. I enjoyed it though I must say, not enough to rate it 5 out of 5 stars.

I was a little confused at first, to be honest. I didn’t know what Mercy’s like. I can hardly read her–I can’t think of any reason why she’s acting such way. But as I was reading the book, at some point, it made sense. This book showed the importance of parental guidance.

In my own opinion, Mercy didn’t know what she really wants, what she really feels because she never felt loved. She never knew what was true love. She never knew because no one noticed she needed to be loved. We express our love to other people in many different ways and I think her mother misunderstood it. Anyways, love from a child’s parent is different and I think it’s a big factor the main character lacks.

I was having a hard time trying to decide if I should give this book 3 or 5 out of 5 stars. My thoughts were jambling. This book had positive and negative things–all books have. Although this book was different.

While reading the book, I realized that there were so many factors in the book where you can learn a lot. The book didn’t just focused on family matters–it also focused on love, friendship, faith and self-worth. Although at the same time, I can say that this book shouldn’t be read by ages 16 and below. I will not refer this book as dangerous but I can say it requires maturity.

Young readers might over think while reading this book and I don’t want that to happen. Be open minded and try finishing the book first. I must admit, I didn’t like the book at first but I tried finishing the book ’cause I think maybe if I give it a chance, I’ll be able to like it soon–and I did.

I don’t recommend this to all readers but if you’re an open minded person, then I think this book’s for you.

*Thank you St. Martin’s Griffin for giving the chance to have a free copy of this book.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

