Q&A: Tammy Ferebee

34a9c8_816c1613645f4eca8982c304129309ad

ABOUT THIS AUTHOR:

Tammy Ferebee, or Tams to her friends, lives and writes in Baltimore, Maryland. She is the proud mother of two, a hardworking grad student, and of course, has a deep love for writing.

She enjoys spending time with her family, going on road trips, fishing, dancing, eating unhealthy amounts of chocolate, wearing slippers in and out of the house, and watching re-runs of The Walking Dead.

KNOW HER MORE:

Can you give us writing tips?

  • Read! Reading educates, helps to build vocabulary, and can introduce a person to many different writing styles.
  • Create a comfortable atmosphere. Don’t write surrounded by unnecessary distractions.
  • Write often. No one will ever grow as a writer if they never write.
  • Take breaks. Forced writing never reads smoothly. If writer’s block hits you, separation may help.
  • Keep a notepad or journal close by. You just never know when that perfect quote or idea will hit you. You don’t want to forget it.
  • Accept constructive criticism.
  • Don’t fear being too weird. Your weirdness is what’ll likely start the next big trend.
  • Be fearless, be different, and write on!

 

Why did you choose to become an author?

Tammy: I wanted to share my stories with the world. For the longest, I wrote, and kept my work to myself. Then one day, I wrote something, really loved it, and thought others may love it as well. Turns out, after posting a few short stories online, people did love my writing. I realized that I was moving in the right direction and should pursue publication. There’s nothing like knowing your words touch people. There’s nothing like being an author!

Where do you get inspirations?

Tammy: I find so many things inspiring. Scenery, pictures, quotes, songs, life experiences. The smallest thing can bring about the craziest idea, and from there, my imagination just takes off.

Do you consider writing and reading similar?

Tammy: Yes. They’re both journeys. On a reading journey, you follow a story and meet new characters, not certain where things will end up. On a writing journey, you create a plot and a series of characters that you get to know as you move forward. Where the story will end up is unknown until you get there. I discover a lot while writing and while reading, so they’re both very similar for me.

Have you been into a book slump? If ever, how were you able to endure with it?

Tammy: I’ve been in many book slumps. There are those odd times when I just have no desire to read. Typically, I write through my slumps, or I’ll revisit a favorite book to break out of it faster.

Have you read the Harry Potter series? If ever, what do you think about it?

Tammy: This always seems to shock people, but I have never read a Harry Potter book. I usually don’t run for the super, popular books. And if I do read them, it’s when things have calmed down and no one is talking about them anymore. At some point, I’ll try one, I’m sure.

 

Who’s your favorite author and why?

Tammy: Geez… this is the hardest question on the planet for me. Truthfully, I don’t have just one. I have a few favorites. They are Alice Walker, Toni Morrison, Zora Neale Hurston, Eric Jerome Dickey, Stephen King, and Ellen Hopkins. I love them all because of their writing styles, the originality of their stories, and their raw authenticity.

 

Do you have strange writing habits?

Tammy: I don’t think my writing habits are strange. I drink lots of coffee, usually write in bed or on the couch, and I play my favorite shows in the background, but on mute. Seeing the actor’s expressions helps me with descriptions. I also say the dialogue out loud sometimes. It helps me to hear my characters. (That may be a little strange to some people)

How do you read?

Tammy: I read quietly, usually lying in bed or on my couch. I also have a favorite blanket that makes my reading experience even better. I’m typically a fast reader, and I always react loudly when I’m surprised.

Where to find Tammy Ferebee?

 

https://twitter.com/tammyferebee

https://www.facebook.com/Tammy-Ferebee-1030336110351033/

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14228854.Tammy_Ferebee

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCQG_cqtkT0q9jt3rmoIEryA

Leave a Reply

