Q&A: Roxanne Bland

71PWsbfpmCL._UX250_

ABOUT THIS AUTHOR:

I’ve been a fugitive from reality since forever. As a kid, I constantly made up stories–some would call them lies–about my family, friends, neighbors and even strangers on the street. I had friends that only I could see. Oh, the adventures we had! You know, just a little kid having fun.

Learning to read was a revelation. Words fascinated me. Whole new worlds opened up, and since my parents forbade nothing, I read everything. Some of it I didn’t quite understand, but that was okay with me. I read it anyway. I even read the dictionary. When I was a little older, I was big on mysteries. Then I graduated to horror. I was reading a little science fiction at this time–Robert Heinlein and authors like him–but I really didn’t get into it until I was in college. And that led to fantasy, a la Lord Of The Rings, and so on.

During this time I was still making up stories, but not writing them down. They were private. Besides, I thought my family and friends would laugh at me. The only story I recall writing was one that won a contest when I was in elementary school.

So anyway, life goes on. I went to law school. After I graduated and entered the workforce, I finally started writing down my stories. I wrote a bit here and there, short stories that never saw the light of day (which was probably a good thing). Then I fell ill. I had the flu for a month. Bored out of my skull, I started writing a piece of fan fiction, though I didn’t know that’s what it was at the time. I showed it to a friend of mine who suggested I finish the story.

Well, that piece of fan fiction fell by the wayside, but in its place came a manuscript that would eventually become my first book, The Underground. I absolutely adored writing it. I absolutely adore writing, period. Slipping into that alternate reality for hours on end, there was a time in my life when it was called daydreaming and I got into trouble for it. Now it’s legitimate. And that’s the best part of all.

GET TO KNOW HER:

 

What can you say about @abookwithbea’s blog?

R: It’s wonderful! I really enjoyed reading the synopses and the excerpts, reading about the authors, and…oh, well, everything! It made me want to rush out and buy every book. You’ve done a great job with it.

What is The Moreva of Astoreth about?

R: Priestess, scientist and healer Moreva Tehi, the spoiled, headstrong granddaughter of Astoreth, the Goddess of Love, has neglected her sacred duties and must be punished for her transgressions. She is temporarily banished from her beloved desert home to a volatile, far northern corner of Peris, only to venture into dangerous realms of banned experimentation, spiritual rebirth, and fervent, forbidden love.

What do you think most characterizes your writing?

R: Dialogue. I’ve a good ear, and I write the way people talk. People don’t talk like their reading from a text book. They don’t always speak in full sentences. That’s the way I write. Microsoft Word’s grammar program hates me. When I’m on public transportation, I eavesdrop whenever I can. I listen to people’s conversations. Not so much the conversation itself, but the tone, the rhythm of their voices. And that’s the sense I try to convey to the reader—that they’re eavesdropping on a conversation.

What did you enjoy most about writing The Moreva of Astoreth?

R: I enjoyed every minute of it. But then, I truly enjoy writing, even when I’m tearing my hair out or about to throw the computer out the window. Writing can be frustrating, yes, but for me, it’s never not fun. So, in thinking about this question, it seems it should be more like what I found the most amusing about writing the novel. And that was definitely the characters. The way I’d originally planned it, the story was to take place during Peris’s spring season. Even though I’m not a plotter, I had this one all mapped out. But to my surprise, the characters took over. They said “nooo—we’re not done with you yet!” Then it was almost as if they were dictating the story. So now The Moreva of Astoreth now takes place over an entire year. I had to rewrite that first ending because of them! But really, I don’t mind. I think they told a better tale.

What projects are you working on at the present?

R: Well, now that the book is finished, I can go back to the work-in-progress before The Moreva of Astoreth took over. It’s a sequel to a book I wrote a couple of years ago, and it chronicles the further adventures of a werewolf who has fallen in love with a space alien. Yes, I know. I’m weird that way.

What do you like to read in your free time?

R: Thrillers, horror and some non-fiction—history, armchair physics—things like that. I think it’s important that a writer read outside his or her genre from time to time. It keeps things fresh. And you know, I’ve gotten some great ideas reading those books!

How can readers discover more about you and you work?

Website: http://www.blackrosepress.com (under construction)
Blog: http://roxannebland.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Roxanne-Bland-Author-289392377750996/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/RoxanneBland2
LinkedIn:
Pinterest:
Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Roxanne-Bland/e/B00BDIOVF8/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1446720552&sr=1-2-ent
Smashwords:
Book Links: Amazon US http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_1?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&field-keywords=roxanne+bland; Amazon UK http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&field-keywords=Roxanne%20Bland Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/search?query=The+Moreva+of+Astoreth, Kobo: https://store.kobobooks.com/search?Query=The+Moreva+of+Astoreth
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6889207.Roxanne_Bland

Leave a Reply

