Book Review: The Teen Girl’s Survival Guide: Ten Tips for Making Friends, Avoiding Drama, and Coping with Social Stress

The Teen Girl's Survival Guide: Ten Tips for Making Friends, Avoiding Drama, and Coping with Social Stress
SYNOPSIS:
As a teen girl, you are likely feeling pressure and stress from every direction. Having good, healthy relationships with friends you can count on makes all the difference. In this guide, psychologist and teen expert Lucie Hemmen offers ten tips to guide you toward creating and maintaining the social life you want. Even better, the real experts that make this guide special are older teen girls who have recently been where you are now—and have plenty to say about it.

As you move through this fun and engaging guide, you will get a sense of who you are as a friend, appreciate authentic qualities you can share with others, and get moving toward expanding the quality and quantity of your social connections. Before you know it, small steps will lead to big changes and you will find yourself more confident, connected, and happy.

Grounded in evidence-based cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT), the ten tips guide you in developing yourself in both simple and significant ways. You will engage in thought-provoking exercises and take fun quizzes spaced between tips to get you thinking more deeply about yourself and others. If you’re ready to get going on your social life, this book will show you the way.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Lucie Hemmen
Lucie Hemmen, Ph.D. is a licensed clinical psychologist with a private practice in Santa Cruz, California.

For over 20 years, Lucie has worked with individuals of all ages as well as couples and families. In addition to working with issues such as depression, stress, anxiety, trauma, and grief, Lucie is committed to promoting healthy teen development by working with teens, their parents, and their communities.

BOOK REVIEW:

Before saying all my thoughts about this book, I just want to thank New Harbinger Publications, Inc. for sending me a copy and this book.

When I first saw this book, I immediately want to get a physical copy. But unfortunately, I live in Saudi Arabia.. and in here, they don’t actually put new books in stores so I had to get it online buuut! I didn’t have to get it online because you, the publisher, sent it to me! And I’m really grateful to review this for free. To the readers, just want to tell you that all of my opinions are my own and none of them are suggested by the publisher to be said. Soo yep! Enough of that and let’s get going!

As a teenager, there are lots of drama and issues and stuff. And most of the time, teenagers don’t know what to do. I finished and followed the tips I have read in this book and I can say.. there are lots of improvement in my life. I’m still in high school and just graduated from elementary… and in elementary.. there are lots of dramas and stuff like that. I like that this book helped me a lot from becoming a better person.

I told myself, I wanted to change. I want something to change. I want this year of my high school life to be like the normal kids’. You know? Peaceful. Not with many issues surrounding you.

To be honest, I’m not good at making friends. I do have lots but believe me, I only have one truly friend. And sometimes I confuse myself that I don’t know how to handle our friendship anymore. I’m afraid that we might lose our bond and I don’t want that to happen. Thanks to this book, it gave me hope and courage for our friendship.

Alongside that fact, this book also helped me from coping with stress. As a teenager, I experience a lot of discouragements and judgments from others. I would like to give my very best to say to you that this book.. helped me to have confidence. I’m a quiet type of girl and I can hardly prove myself to others. If you’re like me.. I think it would be best for you to read this book.

This is not just a book, my friend. It can help you, A LOT. So why not grab a copy? (: It’ll be worth it, I promise! I think that’s all I can say. (I’m not good at reviewing books, you know! But I hope this one helped you)

inquiries: abookwithbea@gmail.com // goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/42731939-bea-flores

Leave a Reply

