Q&A: Amy Engel

Picture

Amy was born in Kansas and after a childhood spent bouncing between countries (Iran, Taiwan) and states (Kansa, California, Missouri, Washington, DC), she settled in Kansas City, Missouri where she lives with her husband and two kids. Before devoting herself full time to motherhood and writing, she was a criminal defense attorney, which is not quite as exciting as it looks on TV. When she has a free moment, she can usually be found reading, running, or shoe shopping.

Q&A:

Can you give us a brief story about your writing career?

AE: I always wanted to be a writer, but I have a strong practical streak and that part of me won out for many years. It wasn’t until I decided to quit my job as a lawyer and stay home with my kids that I decided to make a serious effort to get published. I wrote a YA novel and ended up trunking it after querying agents and not getting an offer of representation. The next book I wrote was IVY and I got more agent interest, but everyone seemed nervous about trying to sell a dystopian novel to publishers. I wasn’t ready to give up on IVY , though, so I researched mid-size publishers who accepted unsolicited submissions and discovered Entangled Teen. I sent them IVY and within a couple of months they contacted me to let me know they loved the book and wanted to publish it. After IVY was published, I wrote an adult novel and went back into the query trenches and emerged with Jodi Reamer as my agent. She sold the adult novel to an imprint of Random House earlier this year. Hopefully that wasn’t too long-winded!

Do you consider reading and writing similar?

AE : This is a really interesting question. For me they are similar in that I get lost in my own head when I’m both reading and writing. But in a general sense I wouldn’t say that I consider them to be similar so much as I think reading is absolutely fundamental to the skill of writing and the first critical step to becoming a writer. I’ve never met a writer who didn’t love to read. When people ask me about becoming a writer, I always tell them to start with reading, even in genres they aren’t sure they’ll like. Sometimes reading a book you hate teaches you as much about writing as reading one you love.

Links :
Buy : The Book of Ivy – http://www.bookdepository.com/Book-Ivy-Amy-Engel/9781622664658
Pre – Order : The Revolution of Ivy – http://www.bookdepository.com/Revolution-Ivy-Amy-Engel/9781473629349

SPECIAL THANKS TO:

Entangled Teen
SprinkleOfBooks (SprinkleOfBooks.weebly.com)

Leave a Reply

