Q&A: David Estes

David Estes

Author of the YA series’ The Dwellers Saga, The Country Saga, Salem’s Revenge, the Slip Trilogy, and The Evolution Trilogy, and the children’s series The Adventures of Nikki Powergloves

For queries regarding the film options or publishing rights for my books, please contact my agent, Andrea Hurst at andrea@andreahurst.com.

http://davidestesbooks.blogspot.com

http://www.facebook.com/pages/David-Estes/130864990343920

https://twitter.com/#!/davidestesbooks

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/3167424.David_Estes

ABOUT THIS AUTHOR:

I was born in El Paso, Texas but moved to Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania when I was very young. I grew up in Pittsburgh and then went to Penn State for college. Eventually I moved to Sydney, Australia where I met my wife. A reader all my life, I began writing novels for the children’s and YA markets in 2010, and started writing full time in June 2012. Now I travel the world writing with my wife, Adele. I’m a writer with OCD, a love of dancing and singing (but only when no one is looking or listening), a mad-skilled ping-pong player, and prefer writing at the swimming pool to writing at a table.

Books:

Questions:

If you hadn’t become an author, what would you have done instead?

David: Well, I was an accountant for almost ten years before becoming a fulltime writer, so I guess that’s what I would do! However, I really didn’t like being an accountant, so I think this is a much better career path for me.

Had you always wanted to be an author?

David: YES! Although I always thought it was a pipe-dream. I never thought writing would be able to pay the bills. Sadly, for most writers it doesn’t. I consider myself VERY lucky 🙂

What’s your favorite genre to write about and why?

David: I love anything SciFi, and that’s what most of my books are. Primarily I write dystopian and post-apocalyptic books, my most famous being The Moon Dwellers, a series which has sold more than 50,000 copies, including audiobooks. However, I think I like writing fantasy even more, because there are fewer limits. For example, in one of my latest series, Brew, I decided to have witches and warlocks take over the world. It was fun and hilarious coming up with all their powers, as well as figuring out how the humans were going to fight back.

 

Do you like reading as well as writing?

David: Of course! I’ve always been a bookworm. I usually write for at least four hours a day, but I also read about two or three hours too, just for fun 🙂

What urged you to become an author?

David: My wife. Well, she encouraged me to write my first book, even though I doubted myself. So I owe a lot to her, especially now that I’ve written 26 books, 23 of which are published and selling well! Now my wife can’t get me to STOP writing 😛

 

What advice can you give to those who aspire the same career as you?

David: First of all, never give up. Dreams do come true and all things are possible. Set your mind to it and go for it. Second, WRITE. You can’t be a writer/author unless you write. Get rid of your fear and your doubt and just right what your heart tells you to write. Write every single day, even if just for a half an hour (although I recommend at least two hours a day).

 Do you aim for the same word counts every time you write?

 David: Yes, generally. Although sometimes I change my word count goal depending on the project. For example, for a while I decided to work four-day weeks so I would get three days off a week. So I set a very high word count, 6,000 words a day. I did that for a couple of novels and then decided it was too much per day. So I went back to writing six days a week, but 3,000 to 4,000 words per day. That works better for me.

 

David to Bea: Thanks for all the awesome questions, Bea, I hope you and your blog followers enjoyed my responses! I love hearing from readers, so I always encourage them to stop by and say hi on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, my blog, or on Goodreads, where I have a super-fun YA group called David Estes Fans and YA Book Lovers Unite. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

