Book Review: Broken Pieces by Rachel Thompson

Hey guys! It’s my examination week next week and I don’t know how I managed to finish a book.

Maybe the book’s amazing?

Maybe the book’s more than amazing?

What if?

Okay, enough about that. So the book I read was Broken Pieces by Rachel Thompson!!!

Broken Pieces

Synopsis:

Broken Pieces is an award winning book about relationships, a study of women, and a book with heart. Vastly different in tone from her previous essay collections A Walk In The Snark and The Mancode: Exposed, Broken Pieces is a collection of pieces inspired by life: love, loss, abuse, trust, grief, and ultimately, love again. While still non-fiction, best-selling Broken Pieces is not humor at all. In Thompson’s most intensive work to date, she opens her soul and invites the reader in for a visit. Thompson goes into those long buried rooms we lock up deep inside and shares a bit of her soul. Broken Pieces is vulnerable, raw honesty, and no-holds barred.

Book Review:

Before anything, I just want to congratulate Author Rachel Thompson for such a great work! I never read such genres so fast. Usually, I finish books like this for atleast 2 weeks. But I just can’t, I only read it for days!

The book’s not just amazing, it’s more than that. I like that this book’s nonfiction. It really hit me. You know the feeling when you’re driving your car peacefully then one moment there’s you, easy-so-lucky then suddenly something hits you and made you realize things? THAT’S EXACTLY HOW I FELT WHILE READING THE BOOK.

This book came along with so many feelings that it made reality beyond reality. I’m a public speaker slash a gavelier, and most of the time.. they ask questions about life. While speaking, you must express the feelings that really came along with you while you’re in that situation. “I love authors who keep the readers in the dark.” That’s what I always say and I mean it.

While reading this book, I felt the same way as the character or the main person dealing with such issues. I loved that I learned so much—I never expected I’ll learn this much. Experiences do have a great power to change us.. And I think that’s why I’m still reading a book right now.

Reading this book is like being a friend to the main person in the book. You get to feel and see the same way and thoughts. Reading this book gave me experience—experience that I’ll bring with me forever.

What I only HATE about this book is that I MISSED THE EMOTIONS and THOUGHTS of the person in the book everyday! I’m done reading it but I still feel that there’s a space that this book occupied in my heart. This book gave a big impact to me, and I thank Author Rachel for that.

You didn’t only help me, but you also helped my grades get high. Haha! My favorite subject’s English and in English, we always speak in front. I like that about English. My classmates always ask me such questions like:

“Base from your own experience?”

“How can you do such speaking with emotions?”

“How do you formulate those powerful words and amazing quotes?”

 

Well, I think this is the best time to answer these questions. First of all, the things I say in front of the class aren’t base from my own experience. I maybe a little old but I don’t get into such troubles ‘cause I’m in a country where after school, you must go straight back to your house.

I handle it with emotions. I always make sure of that. Why? Simply because it’s the one that’s going to handle the whole moment. In order to feel, one must know what she says.

I formulate them base from what I’ve read. It’s not like I’m going to steal other author’s words… but dude, I’ve read so much books with different emotions and I think I must use what I’ve seen, what I’ve felt and what I’ve learned.

This book is one of those books that helped me a lot. I look forward to reading more Rachel Thompson books! I think this is it for now? J Good Day everyone!

Hi! Thank you for stopping by just to read this review. This was originally posted in my blog: abookwithbea.wordpress.com

Book Review Inquiries: abookwithbea@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

