Q&A: Christina Benjamin

6588515

Christina Benjamin
http://www.TheGenevaProjectBook.com

About this author:

Benjamin’s writing hooks fans of mega-hit YA fiction like Harry Potter and Hunger Games, and offers them a new series to obsess over. She paints a vivid world, where magic and imagination run wild in her epic tale of adventure, courage and friendship.

Christina now lives in North Florida with her husband, and character inspiring pets. She spends most of her time writing. Benjamin is dedicated to giving back to the community and speaking at schools to inspire creativity in young writers. When she has free time she enjoys to read, listen to music, shop and travel.

For you to know more about her, here are some of the questions she answered:

1.) What urged you to be an author?
Christina: I’ve always loved the art of story telling. Whether I’m reading or writing a new story, I love the escape and endless possibilities that fiction offers. It feels like the truest form of magic to me.
2.) What’s your writing routine?
Christina: I don’t really have one. I’m a totally pantser. I write whenever, where ever. When I am in the middle of a writing project I do try to write everyday. It’s a lot harder for me to stop and start again, because I lose that flow.
3.) What’s the easiest and hardest thing about writing?
Christina: The easy part is letting your imagination run wild and inventing new worlds and characters. My books, The Geneva Project are a series and the characters live in this dystopian fantasy world full of magic and legends so it’s incredibly fun to write and the possibilities are endless. The hard part for me is that it’s a series. I’m currently writing the 4th book in the series so there is a lot to remember and tie all together.
4.) Do you do lots of research for your book?
Christina: Not a ton. I like to let my imagination do most of the hard work. I feel like that keeps my writing original. Once I have the ground work laid I usually go back and research some things to see how it fits together and if there’s anything else I should add for accuracy. In my 2nd book, Secrets, I research fencing because the characters had a fencing dual and that was really fun to learn about.
5.) What draws you to write the genre you do?
Christina: I write what I love to read, YA fiction. In particular, fantasy or supernatural. It like the elements of excitement mixed with the ordinary. Plus, it has that nostalgic appeal of adolescence.
6.)  Do you aim for the same amount of words/pages each time?
Christina: No, I don’t really pay attention to the numbers. For me it’s about the flow of the story. Chapters and books end where they feel appropriate, regardless of word count. Each of my novels have been longer then the previous and it’s fitting because the story is getting more complex.

Leave a Reply

